Union Institute & University Homepage
Login |

About the Library


Library News

rss

News and Events from UI&U's Online Library.


February Workshops

Brush-up on your research skills and learn how to confidently locate the scholarly resources you need.

Register for an online workshop.

Library Orientation

This online workshop provides a basic introduction to the multiple resources and services provided by the UI&U Library, followed by a tour of the library website. Highly recommended for new users, those unfamiliar with online databases, and those looking for a quick library refresher.

    Thursday, February 7 | 12:05-12:55pm EST/9:05-9:55am PST

Basic Research Skills

The UI&U Library contains millions of resources—including 130,000+ e-books-- that are available for free to the UI&U community. While the seemingly endless supply of information may seem overwhelming, this online workshop will demonstrate how to easily navigate our catalog and various databases so that you can locate exactly what you need for your assignments.  Dissertation, article, and e-book searches will be touched upon.  Recommended for anyone looking to increase their research skills and/or familiarize themselves with the UI&U Library website.

    Thursday, February 7 | 7:00-8:00pm EST/4:00-5:00pm PST

Advanced Research Skills

This online workshop for experienced researchers will explore simultaneous database searches, reverse-citation searches, database alerts, search design, and other research strategies.  Recommended for those who have completed “Basic Research Skills,” or those with previous online research experience.

    Thursday, February 21 | 7:00-8:00pm EST/4:00-5:00pm PST

APA, Chicago, & MLA Citations Made Simple

The UI&U Library provides resources to help you to create, format, and manage bibliographies, citations, footnotes, and endnotes. This online workshop for new and experienced researchers will demonstrate the three citation formatting tools available in the UI&U Library: WorldCat, RefWorks, and Zotero. We'll also visit the APA, MLA, and Chicago style pages.

    Thursday, January 31 | 7:00-8:00pm EST/4:00-5:00pm PST

    Thursday, February 28 | 7:00-8:00pm EST/4:00-5:00pm PST

Faculty Collection Development

The UI&U Library believes that faculty participation is an essential component of library collection development. We invite you to help us by recommending specific e-books for purchase. This online workshop will demonstrate the various collection development resources available, including Choice Reviews Online, Ulrich's Periodical Directory, and the ebrary Title Preview website.

    Thursday, January 31 | 6:00-6:50pm EST/3:00-3:50pm PST

    Thursday, March 7 | 7:00-8:00pm EST/4:00-5:00pm PST




Comments are closed.