Union Institute and University

English Proficiency Requirement For Union Institute & University

English proficiency is required of all applicants whose native language is not English. Applicants can demonstrate English Proficiency in a number of ways. You may fulfill the English requirement by taking either the Internet-based Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL® iBT), theInternational English Language Testing System (IELTS™) exam, or the Pearson Test of English Academic (PTE Academic).

At both the graduate and undergraduate levels, our TOEFL requirement is 79 on the Internet-Based Test (TOEFL iBT). The TOEFL code number for Union Institute & University is 4525. Please use this code number when indicating Union Institute & University to receive your score report. Scores will be sent directly to Union from Educational Testing Service. A list of institution codes is posted on the TOEFL website.

For IELTS, an overall band score of 6.0 is sufficient for admission. For PTE, a score of 54 is sufficient. No code numbers are required for the IELTS or PTE tests. Test takers will need to select Union Institute & University as the recipient of their test scores.

At the undergraduate level, applicants who complete one full academic year of study in a U.S. high school or college/ university will be deemed to have met the English proficiency requirement. At the graduate level, the English proficiency requirement is met for applicants with degrees (e.g., a bachelor’s or master’s) earned in English from accredited universities and colleges in the U.S., Canada, England, Australia, New Zealand, or other English-speaking countries. A copy of the degree or transcript is required for such applicants.

Students from the following countries are exempt from the English proficiency requirement:

Antigua & Barbuda Cayman Islands New Zealand
Australia Dominica Singapore
Bahamas Fiji South Africa
Barbados Grenada St. Kitts & Nevis
Belize Ireland St. Lucia
Bermuda Jamaica St. Vincent & the Grenadines
British Virgin Islands Liberia United Kingdom
Canada (except Quebec) Malawi